Book Review: Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe

20120424-215311.jpg

Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe
Medium: Audible Audiobook

First off, celebrity biographies and memoirs are not a genre I normally read. I probably can count on one hand what I’ve read and those have been mostly comedians. Second, I don’t really have any connection with Rob Lowe as a fan. I was too young to remember any of his early stardom and haven’t seen any of his major roll movies or watched his stint on The West Wing. My memories of Rob Lowe extend only to brief glimpses in Wayne’s World and Austin Powers and of course everybody’s heard of The Brat Pack.

I decided to give this a go because:
1. My Goodreads Group, Bookworm Bitches, choose this as one of the books for the month of April.
2. Rob Lowe himself was the narrator on this audiobook version.
3. He looks so handsome on the cover I felt I wanted to know more than just his pretty face.

This book was so much fun to listen to! It was like watching a movie you haven’t seen for a decade only to realize that there are so many actors in it that are now famous but had not been at the time. He seemed genuine and honest about his childhood and was ok with mentioning all those imperfections that made him who he is.

He did name drop a lot. I have read other reviews that have mentioned this. I did feel at times it was a bit excessive, especially when he talked about the Sheens. Although, I think it was a part of what made the book so interesting. He gave a glimpse at what other actors where like in their youthful beginnings. I especially liked hearing about Tom Cruise and Patrick Swayze.

He did seem a little bit bitter about his West Wing days. I didn’t feel like we got the whole story.

I Googled many things from this book, from movies he mentioned to scandals he glanced over. I’m looking forward to watching the Outsiders now!

I gave this book 4 stars. It was fast and a great pace. The stories were light and Rob’s humor showed through. Best of all, I think it’s great when a book is so interesting it makes you look up more details from other sources and encourages you to keep reading.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

