Book Review: The Pioneer Woman Cooks by Ree Drummond

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier: Simple, Scrumptious, SatisfyingThe Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier: Simple, Scrumptious, Satisfying by Ree Drummond
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Note: I am reviewing the iBooks version of this cookbook.

If you want simple recipes with easy to find ingredients in an easy to follow format, than this cookbook is sure to get you rattling those pots and pans!

The design of Ree’s cookbook is country flower perfect. She scatters pictures of her kids and pets (all of which are adorable) throughout the cookbook and she adds some nice touches that really give you a glimpse of her great personality. One of my favorites is her cooking playlist.

The iBooks version flows nicely with the swiping working well for both pages and instructions. I loved the added bonus of video on a few recipes. However, it would have been nice to have a few more. It also seemed like the ones that were chosen were the easier ones. It would have been more helpful for the videos to be of the more difficult ventures. I like the swipes and pictures for each instruction. I do wish they would have included just a list too. After you’ve made the recipe the first time, you don’t really need to swipe through them one by one.

I love that each recipe includes variation ideas. Each time you make it you can come up with a different combination. Each recipe I have tried so far has been easy and delicious. Some of them I modified slightly to suit my family’s taste.

One think I love about iBooks is that I can highlight all the titles of the recipes I want to use for the week. Then I can go to the My Notes section and see the list at anytime. It works great for ingredients too. No flipping through pages. Everything in one place. Love it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

