Book Review: Fifty Shades of Grey E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

No need to recap the premiss of this book. If you are alive and have access to the outside world, you already know what this is about. I read this mainly due to curiosity of why the news outlets, my coworkers and just about every other woman I know is so enamored by this book. In my case, curiosity killed the cat. I really can see why this book is so talked about. It’s definitely not great literature on any level. It’s no sweeping romance. But, hey, if it makes people who wouldn’t normally pick up a book do so, that’s definitely a great thing.

I thought the best way to review this book would be bullet points. My likes/dislikes are pretty cut and dry with this one. Here goes….

Likes
The character’s names.

Dislikes
There was absolutely no plot or story line of any kind to this book. No depth whatsoever.
BDSM – I found out this is not the “romance” route for me.
The inner goddess. I wanted to kill her.
All the stupid sayings that were repeated way too much.
Everything else.

I found myself skimming parts of this book to get through it. Even the sex got boring after the umpteenth time. Had there been a story line, with the relationship going on throughout, I would have liked it better. I felt that the last 3/4 of the book were a repeat of the first 1/4.

I’m glad I read it and found out what it was really about but won’t be reading any sequels.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

