Do Books Leave You Craving For More?

I read an article on Lifehacker the other day about how the books we read can make us better cooks. I’m not sure if I’m a better cook because I read, but when I thought about it, I realized that reading books from certain locales or descriptions that conjure up memories, can influence what I eat. For example if wine is mentioned numerous times, I feel like having a glass of wine. If characters are having tea often in a book, I’m more inclined to sit and relax with my own cup. A good example of how food descriptions can affect cravings would be The Night Circus. This wonderfully descriptive book had me craving warm apple cider, caramel corn and chocolate by appealing not only to my sense of taste, but also to my sense of smell.

Have you read something recently that left you craving for a certain food or drink?

Read the Lifehacker article HERE.

Since I read a lot of love stories this month and they appealed to my sweet side, not to mention it’s HOT here in PA, I though I would share a sweet recipe that’s sure to be loved by those who eat it. Enjoy!

No Bake Cheesecake

12 oz. white chocolate chips
2 – 8 oz. pkgs lite cream cheese
1 – 8 oz. carton lite whipped topping, thawed
Topping of your choice (I chose strawberry preserves this time)
1 – graham cracker crust

Melt chips in saucepan over medium low heat, stirring until smooth. Add cream cheese, stir until smooth. Remove from heat and fold in whipped topping. Pour into crust and add topping of your choice. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours.

Fruit toppings are a great choice. Try caramel sauce and apples, yum!

20120528-150601.jpg

Leave a Reply

