Will 2.0 Be the Magic Number for Oprah

News outlets have been relentlessly reporting on Oprah’s announcement of her new Book Club 2.0. It’s a book club for the digital age and will use social sites like Facebook and Twitter to discuss titles.

I’m not a huge Oprah fan and I never participated in her 1.0 version book club. I was intrigued by this one though and joined up today.

20120602-081801.jpg

The featured book is Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I’ve had this book on my to-read list since it’s release and this will be motivation for me to finally read it.

The 2.0 Book Club has some great advantages that will hopefully enhance the reading experience.

Oprah’s gone all out on this one. She has her own digital edition of the book which is available on most ereaders and is enhanced with Oprah’s notes and highlights. She’s also offering a reading guide which is available on the Book Club 2.0 site along with some “behind the scene” articles on Cheryl Strayed.

There will also be the ability to ask the author questions via VYou.

It looks like Twitter will be the main social source for discussions using #oprahsbookclub.

Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 will start on June 4th.

You can get more information and sign-up HERE.

3 responses to “Will 2.0 Be the Magic Number for Oprah

  • Cassie

    I’m reading this right now. I’m kind of disappointed that it’s now an Oprah book club book.

    • lonelyowlbooks

      I know what you mean. Are you enjoying it? I’m going to try to get around to reading it sometime this month. Too many books on the to-do list. 🙂

      • Cassie

        I’ve waited on the library list for almost two months for it – it’s good so far. I’m not sure how I feel because she’s a bit sappy about the whole thing, and “poor me,” but I love her Dear Sugar column and I love the idea of her journey so I’m sure by the end I will love this book.

Leave a Reply

