Book Review: Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert

Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with MarriageCommitted: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

After reading Committed, I’m not sure Elizabeth Gilbert has made peace with anything.

If she would have stuck to her and Felipe’s trials, tribulations and travels through their experience of trying to obtain a marriage visa, I would have liked this book much better. Her story telling skills make for a style that flows easily and kept me reading. Ultimately though, it wasn’t enough to drowned out the incessant need for her to justify her feelings and analyse EVERY single thing. I find it so hard to believe that she was able picked out a house without ever seeing it first.

After one marriage and divorce I can’t imagine it would have taken all that research to learn that marriage, or any relationship for that matter, is what you make it. No matter how many opinions you ask for, no matter how many books you read, nothing can prepare you. It’s an ever evolving thing. Yes, you have to give up things. Yes, that includes part of yourself. Did she not realize that she was already doing that?

She should have left the child-rearing opinions out of the book. She can not possibly know anything about this subject. Being an aunt does not make you an expert. I felt like she was trying to justify this life decision, like every decision she makes, to the reader. This book was published in 2010. Have kids or don’t. At this point nobody cares. There’s no need to beg for acceptance. It’s ok. Having children is by no means for everybody.

In the end she did it. She married and settled in. However, I’m not convinced that she made peace with it. I don’t even think she has made peace with her divorce, her ex or even herself. Maybe in another book or two.

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Book Review: Committed: A Skeptic Makes Peace with Marriage by Elizabeth Gilbert

  • Sam

    I must admit I am not her biggest fan. I really disliked Eat, Love, Pray as she just came across as rather selfish and shallow. This book doesn’t sound like she changes much.

    • lonelyowlbooks

      I picked this book up st a used book store on a whim. I haven’t read Eat, Pray, Love so I didn’t realize at first that Committed was an extention of that book. I agree that for someone so “worldly” she comes across as selfish and whiny. I think her writing style would be well suited to fiction. She should give that a try.

Leave a Reply

