Book Review: Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

20120709-192856.jpg

I’m quick to admit that I’m not a Bill O’Reilly fan but this book was a stellar rendition of the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Martin Dugard and Bill O’Reilly have retold a true story that reads like fiction.

I’ve been an avid reader on the subject of Lincoln’s assassination for some time. The story has fascinated me since I was a child. This book is one of the best, most concise references I have read so far. What really makes it stand out, to me anyway, is the time the author’s take to expand upon outlying characters so the reader can better understand the reason behind what they thought and the actions they took. They explain who the characters are and where they’ve come from, what they did during the time frame leading up to and just after the assassination and what happened to them in the years following this trying time in our nations history.

There were some new tidbits that I had not read in other books on the same topic and I found myself wanting to talk my family’s ears off about what I learned and even Googled some of the characters discussed in the book to further my knowledge on what piqued my interest.

Mary Surratt’s story is probably one of the most perplexing to me. If you wanted on expand on her story try Assassin’s Accomplice by Kate Clifford Lawson. It’s told from Mrs. Surratt’s perspective.

View this book on Amazon.com: Killing Lincoln: The Shocking Assassination that Changed America Forever

View this book on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

