Do you judge a book by it’s cover?

20120712-192122.jpg

Last week I reviewed a very funny book, My Status Update Journey (click here to see the review). In my review I mentioned that the one thing I would change to make the book better would be the cover. It got me thinking about the way I choose which books I want to read. I was ashamed to think I may judge a book to quickly based on looks alone.

Do I really judge a book by its cover? I was glad to discover that no, I don’t. I judge the book based on what’s inside the cover. But, along with a bunch of other criteria, the cover makes me want to read the book.

The cover is such an important part of the book. Most of the time it’s the first thing you see. It draws you in and peaks your interest. The same can be said for titles. A good title definitely makes you curious enough to take a chance on the pages inside. They work in tandem to make sure you pick up THIS book and not the one next to it.

After I buy the book though, it’s all about the written word.

Here’s one of my favorite covers:

20120712-192911.jpg

Cool, yes? Very!

What’s your favorite cover?

Leave a Reply

