Book Review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

20120716-201546.jpg

20120717-132942.jpg20120717-132925.jpg

Jenny Lawson is a very funny lady but sadly, for me, this memoir didn’t do her justice or live up to my expectations.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and blame part of my dislike on listening to the audiobook version. Jenny read the book and after a few laughs in chapters 1 and 2 the book became more exhausting than funny. She prattles on and on almost obsessively which would not have been as bad written as it was to listen to. The likes, awesomes and P.S., P.P.S. and P.P.P.S. grated on my nerves at times.

I actually really liked the way she told her stories. Her life is interesting and funny. I’m not sure why she felt she needed to add “stuff” in. It seemed like she was trying too hard.

For me, her stories are best in small blog bits. A whole book was just too much. The best chapter was the bonus one that didn’t get put in the actual book and the outtakes at the end. That’s where Jenny’s true, honest humor really shines.

View this book on Goodreads.
View this book on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

