Book Review: Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

20121021-093742.jpg

20121021-093712.jpg20121021-093639.jpg

A non stop roller coaster of emotion, Monsters of Men is a worthy ending to a remarkable series.

From Goodreads:
“War,” says the Mayor. “At last.” Three armies march on New Prentisstown, each one intent on destroying the others. Todd and Viola are caught in the middle, with no chance of escape. As the battles commence, how can they hope to stop the fighting? How can there ever be peace when they’re so hopelessly outnumbered? And if war makes monsters of men, what terrible choices await? But then a third voice breaks into the battle, one bent on revenge – the electrifying finale to the award-winning “Chaos Walking” trilogy, Monsters of Men is a heart-stopping novel about power, survival, and the devastating realities of war
.

I have to confess, I put off reading this book because I didn’t want to think about this series ending. Throughout the series I’ve grown so attached to Todd and Viola and their goal of peace. This series has some of the most remarkable young characters who are unique, who don’t fit into a tidy, ready-made package of persona, and who make mistakes, have regrets, but ultimately learn from them. They are great role models. I love the incorporation of animals, who I have such a soft spot for.

Monsters of Men picks up where The Ask and the Answer left off. I really like how the author doesn’t spend time reiterating what happened in the last book. It starts right in the thick of it. In this book, we are treated to a third narrative. I don’t want to give a way who it is, but I’ll just say that this character’s representation allows so many questions to be answered and for the story to come full circle.

This book is action packed! Never slowing down, it’s a constant roller coaster between war and peace. It muddies the waters of who’s good and who’s evil and to what end. Through it all Todd and Viola’s commitment to each other is unwavering and stays true. Death comes for many in this installment, some of which are surprising.

The one thing that didn’t satisfy me was the ending. I wanted more. I wanted things tidied up more. I wanted a glimpse in to the future to see if what all these characters went through was worth it.

This is my favorite YA series. I’m looking forward to seeing how this plays out in movie form and will be anxious to see if they can recreate the emotion that is captured in the book.

See my review of The Ask and the Answer.

View this book on Goodreads.

View this book on Amazon.

4 responses to “Book Review: Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

  • Alison

    Glad you liked this book. I absolutely loved it.

    I wish we had got a cleaner ending as well but I think it works out well that we didn’t. It makes it more realistic. Things don’t work out perfectly in the real world and that’s exactly what we got with this series.

  • randomblogger3

    Oh gosh I love this series. I think that the idea was original and the concept was brilliant. Although I agree that I would have preferred a cleaner ending. Your probably going to hate me for this but I think that it was like the hunger games because there was three great books but the ending was quite vague and felt there needed to be reassurance. I think Ness left it up to the audience.

Leave a Reply

